England
Provider access policy statement
Official wording, responsibilities and review duties.
Requirement and scope
Choose the governance type; academy and maintained duties differ. Choose a phase; confirm age and provision conditions. Confirm locally: Has pupils in years 8 to 13.
Maintained school
Required document [1]
Must publish. Website publication within the stated scope. [1]
- Source-established phases
- Secondary, All-through, Special
- Source-established school types
- Mainstream school, Special school
- EYFS condition
- No separate EYFS condition stated
- Accountable
- not stated in the source
- Approval
- not stated in the source
- Operational owner
- Careers leader [1]
- Review cycle
- Careers leader should review annually and agree with the governing body [1]
Conditions: Has pupils in years 8 to 13.
Independent schools and pupil referral units are outside this catalogue’s supported governance mapping.
Academy or free school
Required document [2]
Must publish. Website publication within the stated scope. [2]
- Source-established phases
- Secondary, All-through, Special, 16–19
- Source-established school types
- Mainstream school, Special school, 16–19 academy
- EYFS condition
- No separate EYFS condition stated
- Accountable
- not stated in the source
- Approval
- not stated in the source
- Operational owner
- Careers leader [1]
- Review cycle
- Careers leader should review annually and agree with the governing body [1]
Conditions: Has pupils in years 8 to 13.
Independent schools and pupil referral units are outside this catalogue’s supported governance mapping.
The six encounters are two in years 8–9, two in years 10–11 and two in years 12–13, where those years are provided. Pupil attendance at the last pair is optional. Applicable all-through and 16–19 provision is included.
Official wording
Careers programme information
Secondary academies and 16 to 19 academies must publish a policy statement to comply with section 42B of the Education Act 1997, known as the ‘provider access legislation’. This statement must set out the circumstances in which they will give providers of technical education and apprenticeships access to year 8 to 13 pupils, as applicable.
What academies and further education colleges must or should publish online · Reviewed 2026-10-26
Provider access legislation
Provider access policy statement Schools must prepare and publish a policy statement setting out the circumstances in which education and training providers will be given access to pupils. The policy statement must include: any procedural requirements about requests for access grounds for granting or refusing requests details of premises or facilities available to a person who is given access
Careers guidance and access for education and training providers · Reviewed 2026-10-26
Provider access legislation
In schools, the governing body must make sure that learners in years 8 to 13 receive at least 6 encounters with a provider of technical education or apprenticeships. As a minimum, schools must offer: 2 encounters that are mandatory for all pupils to attend that take place any time during year 8 or between 1 September and 28 February during year 9 2 encounters that are mandatory for all pupils to attend that take place any time during year 10 or between 1 September and 28 February during year 11 2 encounters that are mandatory for the school to put on, but optional for pupils to attend, to take place any time during year 12 or between 1 September and 28 February during year 13 These 6 meetings are timed to inform consideration of post-14, post-16 and post-18 options and progression to the next stage of education or training. Schools should encourage all pupils to attend the encounters. However, optional attendance for older pupils recognises that, while many 16 to 18 year olds will benefit from finding out more about post-18 technical options, some will already have made a firm decision to pursue their chosen pathway. All 6 encounters must happen for a reasonable period of time during the standard school day. Provider encounters that take place outside of school hours, for example parents evenings, do not count towards fulfilment of the legal requirement for 6 provider encounters, but schools are still encouraged to provide these complementary experiences for pupils and their parents. Schools and providers should work together. Schools should ask each provider to inform pupils about: the provider the approved technical education qualifications or apprenticeships that the provider offers the careers those technical education qualifications or apprenticeships might lead to
Careers guidance and access for education and training providers · Reviewed 2026-10-26
Provider access legislation
The careers leader should review the policy statement annually and agree it with the governing body. An example of a suitable policy statement can be found on the CEC resource directory.
Careers guidance and access for education and training providers · Reviewed 2026-10-26
Sources and updates
Official evidence reviewed 2026-10-26. Check the source edition and conditions before acting.
Careers guidance and access for education and training providers
Reviewed edition matches. Source text matches the reviewed edition.
- Reviewed on
- 2026-10-26
- Reviewed version
- 2026-06-23T09:30:01+01:00
- Last checked
- 2026-10-27T11:00:36.203Z
- Reviewed text digest (SHA-256)
cba2164c1f299b9959de30247542e80016723065e63555859e7109e755a54a9f- Official content identity
- 6063dbd7-6c61-4255-be28-cbd8d28289fc
- Official content digest (SHA-256)
65ff38f89e0419f101156ceb1cdabf4e4d3231eddac6f4fd581827b2802d929a
https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/careers-guidance-provision-for-young-people-in-schools/careers-guidance-and-access-for-education-and-training-providers
What academies and further education colleges must or should publish online
Reviewed edition matches. Source text matches the reviewed edition.
- Reviewed on
- 2026-10-26
- Reviewed version
- 2024-10-24T13:22:46+01:00
- Last checked
- 2026-10-27T11:00:36.203Z
- Reviewed text digest (SHA-256)
c97340181ef278fa159ebd90b83d1f974cfc65dd3107bfb3379793aec044b7df- Official content identity
- 805a09d7-7542-41b7-aefe-1b0935777e49
- Official content digest (SHA-256)
48649d639b13916fb1950e252294ddcfb0016986359c01fe4842291a81faba96
https://www.gov.uk/guidance/what-academies-free-schools-and-colleges-should-publish-online
Careers guidance and access for education and training providers
Reviewed edition matches. Publication version matches the reviewed edition.
- Reviewed on
- 2026-10-26
- Reviewed version
- 2026-06-23T09:30:01+01:00
- Last checked
- 2026-10-27T11:00:36.203Z
- Reviewed text digest (SHA-256)
80eeed7f2961b681f60bc24052d01a5b7a1a3492c44362e8a55a15630f93d1c4- Official content identity
- 872431f0-14b8-4993-9bbf-a43b1a1464b4
- Official content digest (SHA-256)
da985a3e1f0382e26105ac1497e75aefc6098582067ad4418a71a5363763bd32
https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/careers-guidance-provision-for-young-people-in-schools
Guidance, not legal advice. Local checks are not a compliance judgement; other duties may apply.