Your basket

Your basket is empty.

To request a quote or invoice, add the items first: the request sends the items in your basket.

Browse planners and resources

The basket shows up to 10 different items. Review your complete basket at checkout; a quote or invoice request includes every item.

Request a quote or invoice

Include your school’s purchase order number if you have one.

Your current basket’s products, selected options, SKUs and quantities will be included. Prices and delivery are confirmed when we issue the quote or invoice.

England

Inclusion strategy under inclusive mainstream fund conditions

Official wording, responsibilities and review duties.

Evidence link

Requirement and scope

Choose the governance type; academy and maintained duties differ. Choose a phase; confirm age and provision conditions. Confirm locally: Receives an inclusive mainstream fund allocation.

Maintained school

Required document [1][5]

Must publish. Each funded school must publish its own updated inclusion strategy statement annually, including where funding is pooled; the 2026–27 statement is due by 31 December 2026. [1][5]

Source-established phases
Primary, Secondary, All-through
Source-established school types
Mainstream school
EYFS condition
No separate EYFS condition stated
Accountable
Each individual funded school publishes its own statement, including where funding is pooled. [5][1]
Approval
not stated in the source
Operational owner
not stated in the source
Review cycle
Update annually; publish the statement for academic year 2026–27 by 31 December 2026. [5]

Conditions: Receives an inclusive mainstream fund allocation.

Independent schools and pupil referral units are outside this catalogue’s supported governance mapping.

Academy or free school

Required document [2][5]

Must publish. Each funded school must publish its own updated inclusion strategy statement annually, including where funding is pooled; the 2026–27 statement is due by 31 December 2026. [2][5]

Source-established phases
Primary, Secondary, All-through
Source-established school types
Mainstream school
EYFS condition
No separate EYFS condition stated
Accountable
Each individual funded school publishes its own statement, including where funding is pooled. [5][2]
Approval
not stated in the source
Operational owner
not stated in the source
Review cycle
Update annually; publish the statement for academic year 2026–27 by 31 December 2026. [5]

Conditions: Receives an inclusive mainstream fund allocation.

Independent schools and pupil referral units are outside this catalogue’s supported governance mapping.

Only schools receiving an allocation are within this funding-condition row; receipt cannot be inferred from school identity. Each individual school publishes its own updated statement every year, including where a federation or multi-academy trust pools funding.

Official wording

Inclusive mainstream fund

If a school gets an inclusive mainstream fund allocation, the governing body will: scrutinise the inclusion strategy which they must publish discuss the rationale for the activities they have invested in Governing bodies need to consider common barriers to learning in the school’s cohort and consider high-quality evidence. Governing bodies will discuss with the senior leadership team: how they will use their allocations from the fund with their core budget allocations to promote inclusion how they will evaluate and sustain the impact of their strategies outcomes from the previous year If federations choose to pool funding, each individual school must still publish an inclusion strategy each year. School leaders must adhere to the conditions of grant. Pupil premium

Maintained schools: governance guide · Reviewed 2026-10-26

Inclusive mainstream fund

If a trust gets an allocation from the fund, the board: must adhere to the conditions of grant, including by publishing an inclusion strategy should scrutinise the inclusion strategy Boards need to consider common barriers to learning in the school’s cohort and consider high-quality evidence. Boards will discuss with the senior leadership team: how they will use their allocations from the fund with their core budget allocations to promote inclusion how they will evaluate and sustain the impact of their strategies outcomes from the previous year Where multi academy trusts choose to pool funding, each individual school must still publish an inclusion strategy each year.  Pupil premium

Academy trusts: governance guide · Reviewed 2026-10-26

Records required

Schools are required to publish an updated inclusion strategy statement annually. Although multi-academy trusts (MATs) can pool resources for use of the IMF across multiple academies, a separate inclusion strategy statement must be published for each academy within a MAT. All individual schools are required to publish an inclusion strategy statement for the academic year 2026 to 2027 and must do so by 31 December 2026. This must include detail of activities invested in to alleviate barriers to learning and participation and budgeted costs. We have provided an inclusion strategy template to help schools develop their strategy.

Inclusive mainstream fund for schools: conditions of grant 2026 to 2027 · Reviewed 2026-10-26

Sources and updates

Official evidence reviewed 2026-10-26. Check the source edition and conditions before acting.

  1. Maintained schools: governance guide

    Reviewed edition matches. Source text matches the reviewed edition.

    Reviewed on
    2026-10-26
    Reviewed version
    2026-07-15T15:01:39+01:00
    Last checked
    2026-10-27T11:00:36.203Z
    Reviewed text digest (SHA-256)
    e52a8a3de45c63b134d0ebf973be1ac134e940f50648449b0251fde69c0d7046
    Official content identity
    5e3468ca-6e6f-4b22-926e-9f851ba2d630
    Official content digest (SHA-256)
    1d3f2f6c58228e0a50a9591032bcf659d1f5c1c9da375fc1053abb88fdb64829

    https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/maintained-schools-governance-guide/maintained-schools-governance-guide

    Track updates in the Roundup

  2. Academy trusts: governance guide

    Reviewed edition matches. Source text matches the reviewed edition.

    Reviewed on
    2026-10-26
    Reviewed version
    2026-07-20T12:52:21+01:00
    Last checked
    2026-10-27T11:00:36.203Z
    Reviewed text digest (SHA-256)
    11ac340ef6b86f38865ce0ece27f1d47949e810ddfde066af3779588c1d1b8c2
    Official content identity
    21a3425c-77ff-4fae-b81d-42b5214b2ad2
    Official content digest (SHA-256)
    b99d266b3aa58de32e2f1428cb9a45065a6e52e26c65344e9df5ecacac19b1a4

    https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/academy-trust-governance-guide/academy-trust-governance-guide

    Track updates in the Roundup

  3. Academy trusts: governance guide

    Reviewed edition matches. Publication version matches the reviewed edition.

    Reviewed on
    2026-10-26
    Reviewed version
    2026-07-20T12:52:21+01:00
    Last checked
    2026-10-27T11:00:36.203Z
    Reviewed text digest (SHA-256)
    951bce6285723fafc928443ce613a49a9ec4d87d590dce1dd468407a0362eb9e
    Official content identity
    92f3e27a-af66-40f4-9cee-89b5f5c5e13c
    Official content digest (SHA-256)
    4cdfdeb9437ac6bd5f85b9073c14c56c0625f24748200b736da06774c2fe1d91

    https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/academy-trust-governance-guide

    Track updates in the Roundup

  4. Maintained schools: governance guide

    Reviewed edition matches. Publication version matches the reviewed edition.

    Reviewed on
    2026-10-26
    Reviewed version
    2026-07-15T15:01:39+01:00
    Last checked
    2026-10-27T11:00:36.203Z
    Reviewed text digest (SHA-256)
    7d561db70706c1bbca7adeadcd16ea9f80b7d71f3bd06f8e7f890c0f36d0d8e1
    Official content identity
    60c79217-46f6-4f61-b9d7-996dfce7abf6
    Official content digest (SHA-256)
    4d3289dc13d765ebdf76cba641ef0478ea1bddb5064d4b8b99585158000a9c9b

    https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/maintained-schools-governance-guide

    Track updates in the Roundup

  5. Inclusive mainstream fund for schools: conditions of grant 2026 to 2027

    Reviewed edition matches. Publication version matches the reviewed edition.

    Reviewed on
    2026-10-26
    Reviewed version
    2026-07-01T15:19:00+01:00
    Last checked
    2026-10-27T11:00:36.203Z
    Reviewed text digest (SHA-256)
    001d567c0a291634ad90f308f024bf3919cbafe3dc42e14d06790006c301c079
    Official content identity
    c977fde6-661d-4c69-b00f-81593065cb86
    Official content digest (SHA-256)
    6d65bca43e518bfc61c126146014890044da3213bb8bba9d2ae6ba8e5a0c6603

    https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/inclusive-mainstream-fund-2026-to-2027/inclusive-mainstream-fund-for-schools-conditions-of-grant-2026-to-2027

    Track updates in the Roundup