Your basket

Your basket is empty.

To request a quote or invoice, add the items first: the request sends the items in your basket.

Browse planners and resources

The basket shows up to 10 different items. Review your complete basket at checkout; a quote or invoice request includes every item.

Request a quote or invoice

Include your school’s purchase order number if you have one.

Your current basket’s products, selected options, SKUs and quantities will be included. Prices and delivery are confirmed when we issue the quote or invoice.

England

First aid arrangements

Official wording, responsibilities and review duties.

Evidence link

Requirement and scope

Choose the governance type; academy and maintained duties differ. Choose a phase; confirm age and provision conditions.

Recheck the official sources before relying on this requirement.

Maintained school

Statutory duty [1]

not stated in the source. Website publication: not stated in the source. Check access and disclosure duties separately.

Source-established phases
Primary, Secondary, All-through, Special
Source-established school types
Mainstream school, Special school
EYFS condition
No separate EYFS condition stated
Accountable
Employer [1]
Approval
not stated in the source
Operational owner
not stated in the source
Review cycle
set by the school

Independent schools and pupil referral units are outside this catalogue’s supported governance mapping.

Academy or free school

Statutory policy [2]

not stated in the source. Website publication: not stated in the source. Check access and disclosure duties separately.

Source-established phases
Primary, Secondary, All-through, Special
Source-established school types
Mainstream school, Special school
EYFS condition
No separate EYFS condition stated
Accountable
Proprietor [2]
Approval
not stated in the source
Operational owner
not stated in the source
Review cycle
set by the school

Independent schools and pupil referral units are outside this catalogue’s supported governance mapping.

Maintained provision follows the first aid needs assessment. ISS paragraph 13 requires academies to draw up and implement a written first aid policy; a blanket “no standalone policy required” is incorrect.

Official wording

First aid provision

First aid provision must be available while people are on school or college premises. It must also be available when staff, pupils and students are working elsewhere on school or college activities including any off-site activity such as educational visits. The regulations require employers to provide adequate and appropriate equipment, facilities and personnel based on a first aid needs assessment. This does not apply to work placements as work experience students are employed by the placement provider.

First aid in schools, early years and further education · Reviewed 2026-10-26

Schedule, paragraph 13

13.  The standard in this paragraph is met if the proprietor ensures that first aid is administered in a timely and competent manner by the drawing up and effective implementation of a written first aid policy.

Education (Independent School Standards) Regulations 2014, Schedule · Reviewed 2026-10-26

Sources and updates

Official evidence reviewed 2026-10-26. Check the source edition and conditions before acting.

  1. First aid in schools, early years and further education

    Reviewed edition matches. Source text matches the reviewed edition.

    Reviewed on
    2026-10-26
    Reviewed version
    2022-02-14T15:20:16+00:00
    Last checked
    2026-10-27T11:00:36.203Z
    Reviewed text digest (SHA-256)
    72c45271febfc14c46bd1ad5ad70481942a54104bc81ac012944a3a8166c57c4
    Official content identity
    1a914e7e-bd17-4e84-a25c-3a57da24ee73
    Official content digest (SHA-256)
    a3ca2c4a9a5a77c0ceda232ba0a16475c45cef3a1e48efc36490875c0c720da2

    https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/first-aid-in-schools/first-aid-in-schools-early-years-and-further-education

    Track updates in the Roundup

  2. Education (Independent School Standards) Regulations 2014, Schedule

    Recheck this source. Manual source review required.

    Reviewed on
    2026-10-26
    Reviewed version
    not stated in the source
    Last checked
    not available
    Reviewed text digest (SHA-256)
    34845030b147f1b881a8e5ba2986b326c03c73e8275e78855b22eda1443930fe
    Official content identity
    not stated in the source
    Official content digest (SHA-256)
    not stated in the source

    https://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2014/3283/schedule/made

  3. First aid in schools, early years and colleges

    Reviewed edition matches. Publication version matches the reviewed edition.

    Reviewed on
    2026-10-26
    Reviewed version
    2022-02-14T15:20:16+00:00
    Last checked
    2026-10-27T11:00:36.203Z
    Reviewed text digest (SHA-256)
    7cba32b059901434a1e0f8d76174e0c88b2e5edb518ece5d6db7c4300eb71acf
    Official content identity
    5ef59d02-7631-11e4-a3cb-005056011aef
    Official content digest (SHA-256)
    2af038f1ee483a65679347777a5ae1bda4c1a20437c68e70eba18929dcd1f3a2

    https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/first-aid-in-schools

    Track updates in the Roundup